Skip to main content

Orofacial Pain Programs in the US and Canada

School

Program

# of residents/yr

Years

Certificate / Degree

Stipend / Tuition

Program Director

Contact person and information

EastmanInstitute for Oral Health, Rochester

Orofacial Pain/TMJD

1-4/yr

1-3

Certificate

Neither

Dr. Ross H. Tallents

Marilyn Foy

585-275- 8315

marilyn_foy@URMC.Rochester.edu

Lutheran Medical Center

Orofacial Pain

3-4

2

Certificate

Stipend

Dr. Omar Suarez

Dr. Omar Suarez

718-630-8922

ofsuarez@lmcmc.com

 

http://www.lmcdental.lmcmc.com/pub/programs/12-ofp

Navy,

Naval Postgraduate Dental School (NPDS)Bethesda, MD

Orofacial Pain Residency/ Fellowship

*open to all federal service dentists

1-3/yr (total 5)

2 or 3

Certificate with Masters of Science

Stipend

Dr. John Johnson

Dr. John Johnson

(301) 295-1495

john.johnson4@med.navy.mil

http://www.wrnmmc.capmed.mil/ResearchEducation/NPDS/SitePages/OrofacialPain.aspx

SUNY Buffalo

TMD and Orofacial Pain Program

2/yr

2-3

Certificate or Masters in Science

Tuition

Dr. Heidi Crow

Heidi C. Crow, DMD, MS

716-829-2241
hccrow@buffalo.edu

Tufts U. School of Dental Medicine

Orofacial Pain Program

2/yr

2-3

Certificate or Masters in Science

Tuition

Dr. Chao Lu

Dr. Chao Lu

Chao.Lu@tufts.edu

U of Alberta, Canada

Residency Program in TMD/Orofacial Pain

1/yr

2-3

M. Sc.

Tuition or Stipend for 2 yrs

Dr. Norman Thie

Dr. Norman Thie

(780) 492-9906

nthie@ualberta.ca

UCLA,

Los Angeles, CA

Orofacial Pain and Dysfunction

2/yr (total 4)

1 int’l position

1-3

Certificate or Masters in Science

Tuition or Stipend

Dr. Robert Merrill

Dr. Robert Merrill

rmerrill@ucla.edu

U of Kentucky

Graduate Program in Orofacial Pain

2/yr (total 4-6)

1-3

Certificate or Masters in Science

Tuition or Stipend

Dr. Jeffrey Okeson

Rosemary Grayson

859 323 5500

Orofacialpain@uky.edu

Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) – Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Orofacial Pain Residency - CODA Accredited

2

Certificate

Full Resident Stipend

Dr. Steven Scrivani

Larisa Taraskewich

ltaraskewich@partners.org

http://www.massgeneral.org/omfs/education/

Rutgers School of Dental Medicine

Newark, NJ

Orofacial Pain Masters

& Fellow Programs

5 Masters

5 Fellows

2-3

1

Certificate with possible Masters with additional year

Tuition

Dr. Gary Heir

Dr. Gary Heir

heirgm@sdm.rutgers.edu

(973) 972-3636

U of Minnesota,

Minneapolis, MN

Orofacial Pain Program

2/yr

2

Certificate or Certificate with a Masters in Science

Stipend

Dr. Donald Nixdorf

Dr. Donald Nixdorf

(612) 624-3130

nixdorf@umn.edu

USC,

Los Angeles, CA

Orofacial Pain

*not limited to USA dental school graduates

2/yr

2

Certificate with possibility of MS or PhD that can be started after the 1styear

Stipend

Dr. Glenn Clark

Dr. Glenn Clark

213-821-5831

ofpom@usc.edu

For more information please view the following link:

https://dentistry.usc.edu/programs/certificate/orofacial-pain/

USC,

Los Angeles, CA

Orofacial Pain and Oral Medicine Online Program

3

Masters of Science

Tuition

Dr. Glenn Clark

 

http://ofpom.usc.edu