The American Academy of Orofacial Pain (AAOP) is pleased to congratulate the American Board of Orofacial Pain (ABOP) on receiving recognition from the National Commission on Recognition of Dental Specialties and Certifying Boards (NCRDSCB) as the national certifying board for the specialty of orofacial pain.  Recognition was granted on March 28, 2022.

Recognition was granted on March 28, 2022.  

The AAOP and ABOP, while distinct organizations, maintain a close working relationship with regard to the dental specialty of orofacial pain as required by the ADA’s NCRDSCB.

The American Academy of Orofacial Pain (AAOP) is a professional organization of dentists and allied health care providers, dedicated to alleviating pain and suffering through the promotion of excellence in education, research, and patient care in the field of orofacial pain and associated disorders.

The AAOP is recognized by ADA’s NCRDSCB as the sponsoring organization for specialty of Orofacial Pain.  Orofacial Pain is the specialty of dentistry that encompasses the diagnosis, management and treatment of pain disorders of the jaw, mouth, face, head and neck. The specialty of Orofacial Pain is dedicated to the evidenced-based understanding of the underlying pathophysiology, etiology, prevention, and treatment of these disorders and improving access to interdisciplinary patient care.

The American Board of Orofacial Pain (ABOP) is an organization of dentists dedicated to enhancing the quality of care and service to the public through a validated certification process of dentists in the specialty of Orofacial Pain. Therefore, the ABOP represents the examining and certifying organization for qualified providers to meet the standards for appropriate orofacial pain care.

The ABOP is recognized by the AAOP and the ADA’s NCRDSCB as the sole Certifying Board for the specialty of Orofacial Pain.

Jeffry R Shaefer DDS MS MPH
AAOP President